Loading Events

Thursday 11 June 7:30pm

£12 – £32

Bedros Shetilian & LMP

St John’s Smith Square

London Mozart Players
Bedros Shetilian  Conductor
Julia Pusker Violin

BARTOK Romanian Folk Dances
MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64
SHOSTAKOVICH Chamber Symphony in C minor, Op.110a
PROKOFIEV Classical Symphony 

An eclectic programme from the London Mozart Players under the baton of US Conductor Bedros Shetilian draws together three works from the twentieth century juxtaposed with Mendelssohn’s romantic violin concerto. 

Bartok’s arrangement of dances from Transylvania will bring the colourful variety of Romanian villages to life in the heart of London’s St John’s Smith Square. By contrast Shostakovich’s elegiac String Quartet No. 8, known as his Chamber Symphony, is a powerful and personal work infused with sorrow that reflects his own life under the harsh circumstances created by the USSR’s totalitarian system, and which the composer could not hear without weeping. Another change of mood again, this time with Prokofiev’s dazzling neo-classical first symphony, which was written as a tribute to Haydn and Mozart to counter the lush romanticism of Wagner, while reinventing the symphony for the twentieth century. 


Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, his last major work, is a cornerstone of the repertoire. From the fast and passionate opening with its haunting melody and breathtaking cadenza through to the thrilling coda of the final movement, there is quicksilver beauty in every bar. Brilliant young violinist Julia Pusker, one of the Hungary’s finest musicians and a founding member of the Ensemble Mirage, which featured in the 2016/17 St John’s Smith Square Young Artists’ series, will give a virtuoso performance of this beloved work. 


Tickets: £12 – £32
St John’s Smith Square
London, SW1P 3HA