Loading Events

Wednesday 18 September 7:30pm

£15 – £44.75

Fairfield Halls Opening Gala Concert

Fairfield Halls

Guest Conductors: Jane Glover, Gerard Korsten, Howard Shelley, Hilary Devan Wetton

PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1 in D, Op. 25 ‘Classical’

BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7 in A, Op. 92


WOOLF New Commission, world premiere


The London Mozart Players return to the newly-refurbished Fairfield Halls for a celebratory gala opening concert that marks their 70th birthday and their 30th year as Croydon’s resident orchestra.

After four years’ absence, classical music is back in the heart of Croydon. To celebrate the LMP’s return to Fairfield Halls, in this first classical concert the orchestra will perform a variety of adored works that showcase the talent within the UK’s longest established chamber orchestra. Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 and an exquisite selection of Mozart Arias with lyric soprano Louise Alder will be performed alongside an exciting new commission from young composer Alex Woolf, BBC Young Composer of the Year 2012, who was inspired to take up composition aged 11 after encountering an LMP outreach project in 2006.

Performing this incredible music under the batons of favourite LMP conductors including Howard Shelley, Jane Glover, Hilary Devan Wetton and Gerard Korsten, the orchestra will delight friends old and new with its flair and versatility as it looks forward to reacquainting itself with this magnificent, freshly minted venue.


Tickets are also available for the concert ‘After Party’ (£15 including wine and canapés, limited availability), where the celebrations will carry on with the LMP (watch out for some cameo cabaret party pieces) and representatives from BRIT School, Trinity Boys Choir and other friends and supporters.

Tickets: £15 – £44.75
Fairfield Halls
Phoenix Concert Hall