Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Thursday 15 August 7:30pm

£9 – £29

Summer Serenade

St Martin-in-the-Fields

MozartEine kleine Nachtmusik
Vaughan WilliamsThe Lark Ascending
Elgar – Serenade for Strings in E minor
Tchaikovsky – Serenade for Strings in C

London Mozart Players
Ruth Rogers Violin / Director

Vaughan Williams’ pastoral romance The Lark Ascending is the centrepiece of a ravishing programme of music that brings the countryside into the centre of London. This glorious piece, voted No.1 in the 2019 Classic FM Hall of Fame, features a soaring violin solo, to be performed by Ruth Rogers, that depicts a lark serenely ascending to lofty heights above rolling fields. The bucolic theme continues with exquisite serenades from Elgar and Tchaikovsky, each evoking an atmosphere of wistful longing for times past. Mozart’s ever-popular serenade Eine kleine Nachtmusik, provides a lively opening to this concert.

Come along to the iconic church of St Martin in the Fields for music perfect for a balmy summer’s evening.


Tickets: £9 – £29
St Martin-in-the-Fields