New World Symphony

Weber Overture to Der Freischütz
Dvorak Concerto for Cello in B minor, Op. 104
Dvorak Symphony no 9 in E minor, Op. 95  “From the New World”
Howard Shelley Conductor
Yoon-Kyung Cho Cello
London Mozart Players

The London Mozart Players return to Grayshott this September. Conducted by Howard Shelley, talented prize-winner Yoon-Kyung Cho will perform Dvorak’s enchanting Cello Concerto with the orchestra. The London Mozart Players will also perform Dvorak’s huge and glorious Symphony No.9 “From the New World”.


Live Stream of Mozart Explored Rehearsals from Classic FM

If you missed today’s concert at St John’s Smith Square, watch Classic FM’s live stream from the rehearsals earlier today. Howard Shelley and the London Mozart Players performed Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.20 for the first concert in the series!


Mozart Explored

The Audience Choice

Howard Shelley pianist-conductor
London Mozart Players

Howard Shelley and London Mozart Players return to St John’s Smith Square for the third season of their highly successful lunchtime concert series Mozart Explored. To mark the beginning of the 2016/17 season, the London Mozart Players offered the audience the chance to choose which of Mozart’s piano concertos would be performed in the opening concert of their popular Mozart Explored series. Having cast their votes, the audience has spoken and the dramatic concerto No. 20 has been chosen.


About Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor

In this concerto the mood of the entire first movement is set by the contained intensity of the opening bars. Even in the Romanze, where the music is apparently simple and serene, an agitated section in G minor serves as a reminder of the overall dramatic character of the concerto.


Ripon International Festival – LMP & Janusz Piotrowicz

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90 “Italian”
Mozart Concerto for Oboe in C major, K 314
Beethoven Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92

London Mozart Players
Janusz Piotrowicz conductor
Daniel Bates oboe

The London Mozart Players return to Ripon International Festival to perform the Grand Finale concert, with another sensational programme led by conductor Janusz Piotrowicz. Featuring virtuoso oboist Daniel Bates, Principal of the OAE and the City of London Sinfonia, programme highlights include a performance of Mendelssohn’s “Italian” Symphony, Mozart’s Oboe Concerto in C and Beethoven’s Seventh – a work of infinite beauty and rhythmic ingenuity, with a heartrending 2nd movement and furiously energetic finale.


Church Stretton Arts Festival

Handel Concerto Grosso, Op.6, No.7 B-flat major
Vivaldi Concerto for 2 Trumpets in C major, RV 537
Mozart Divertimento for Strings in F major, K 138 (125c) “Salzburg Symphony no 3”
Vivaldi Concerto for Strings in G minor, RV 156
Segal Double Trumpet Concerto
Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48


The London Mozart Players perform a programme of Tchaikovsky, Vivaldi and Mozart for the 50th Church Stretton Arts Festival. Church Stretton Arts Festival is a music and visual arts festival based in the heart of the Shropshire Hills near Shrewsbury.


New Concerts Listing Page

Mozart Explored preview ‘An enthralling insight, and definitely one of the most civilised ways to take a lunchtime break’